Potato Gnocchi with Squash and Kale: So Good and So Easy!


So like I’ve said before. The weather is cooler and I have food on the brain. I’m pretty sure my family could think of worse things for me to be thinking of since they are the ones who get to enjoy the fruits of my obsessions. I’m lucky to have a husband who gladly eats whatever I feel like putting out, but also a 3 year old who not only scarfs up whatever I put in front of him, but does it with an enthusiastic “Yummy mommy, this is really delicious!” What can I say? The kid has learned the art of flattery and charm at a very early age. Needless to say – keeping all the bellies in my house well fed and well nourished is something I am happy to do.

So along comes this week’s recipe. And one thing you need to know about my cooking habits is that while there was once a day when tooling around in the kitchen all day long was something I actually enjoyed – that just doesn’t fly anymore. In order for me to love a recipe it has to be not only delicious and healthy (ok, usually) but also really easy and quick to prepare. Thanks to the Food Network Magazine, here is another winner in my book that scores big time in the ease of preparation category.

Potato Gnocchi with Squash and Kale

  • 2 Tbsp butter (I’m sure you could easily substitute olive oil)
  • 1/2 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 3 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1 Tbsp. sage, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 1/4 Cups Chicken broth (I’m sure veggie broth would be good too!)
  • 1 bunch kale, trimmed and roughly chopped
  • 1 (1.5 oz. ) pkg. gnocchi
  • 3/4 cup grated parmesan cheese (or other nutty, hard cheese)
  • Salt to taste
  • Finely chopped pecans (optional, but good!)

Melt 1 Tbsp. butter in a skillet, add squash and cook till soft and golden. (8 minutes) Add garlic, sage. red pepper and salt, cook till garlic is soft.

Add broth. When it is simmering, add Kale and cook till slightly wilted (2 minute) – add a little at a time if necessary to make room in the pan

Add gnocchi, stirring to coat. Cover and cook till gnocchi are just tender (5-10 minutes, depending on how fresh the gnocchi you use are. I use a packaged variety from trader Joe’s that tend to need a longer cooking time to get nice and soft)

Stir in 1/4 cup of the cheese and remaining 1 Tbsp. butter. Sprinkle with the remaining cheese and transfer to the broiler for about 3 minutes till the tops gets a little browned and bubbly.

Clearly, I have an affinity for the squash/kale combination as evidenced by not only this week’s recipe, but last week’s Ribollita recipe. What can I say? Sometimes when a combo works, it just works! And this one happens to be one of my favorites. At any rate this recipe packs a really big nutritional bang that, combined with how insanely easy it is to prepare, makes it a great fall staple.

As usual, I’d really love to hear from you if you try this recipe out. Or even if you don’t, I’d still love your comments! And see those little “share” buttons down there? Go ahead … try them out!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Juliette Wilk is a certified massage therapist and self-care instructor at Oakland’s Life Balance Massage. She writes on a variety of self-care, healthy eating and balanced living topics aimed at helping people live a healthier, more positive, saner life. Join her onTwitter and Facebook to be sure and get your daily dose of sanity.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
2 responses

    • In fact, I just had this for dinner tonight and it was still great! I also like to sometimes add some chopped pecans for a little extra protein and crunch.Enjoy and let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

