What’s Cookin’ in My Kitchen? Week of 2/27 – 3/2


A few weeks ago I mentioned that I was thinking of posting my weekly menus up here. And since many of you “thumbs upped” the idea I’m going to go ahead and give it a go here. Because most of my recipes are culled from fellow bloggers far more culinarily creative than I who work hard to get their ideas out there, I will be linking to the original source when at all possible as opposed to posting the recipes myself. Sometimes I have a general idea of what I want to make but no actual recipe in which case there will be no link or recipe, sorry! Eat up and please let me know if you try any of these recipes yourself!

Monday 2/20 – Sunday 2/26

MondayHearty Chicken Stew with Butternut Squash & Quinoa with Green Salad *

TuesdayTabbouleh with Baked Falafel and Tzatziki Sauce **

Wednesday – Slow Cooker Cauliflower, Bell Pepper and Chickpeas in Coconut Curry Sauce over Coconut rice ***

Thursday – Pizza & Salad ****

FridayCream of Mushroom Soup with Almond Crusted Chicken Tenders and Baked Rosemary Parsnip “Fries” and Roasted Asparagus *****

SaturdayBroccoli Rabe “Melts” with oven fries and Zucchinni Soup******

SundaySpinach & Almond “Pesto” Pasta, Carmelized Cauliflower Soup (or just Roasted Cauliflower if I end up getting lazy) and Green Salad

Changes, additions, notes, etc …

* This was sooo good! I browned the chicken first then sauteed the squash and mashed parts of it before adding liquids. The chicken braised in the simmering liquid while the quinoa cooked. I also added some random and generous glugs of white wine and chopped fennel. Don’t be tempted to skip the olives they make the dish!

** I’m going to wing the falafel but am basing it off of this recipe. The Tzatziki is basically this one plus chopped mint.

*** No specific recipe here other than the sauce which comes from America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook. Coconut Curry Sauce: Whisk together – 2/3 cups light coconut milk, 6 Tbsp Chicken broth, 1 tsp sugar, 1 tsp cornstarch, 1/4 tsp salt, 2 tsp curry powder & 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes. I’m going to wing the rice but will probably cook it in the leftover coconut milk and add toasted coconut flakes. Maybe a bit of sugar for sweetness and some toasted almonds for contrast?

**** I always have a couple of Trader Joe’s pizza doughs, sauce and some shredded cheese hanging around and use up whatever is in the fridge for toppings.

****** I don’t have a recipe for this soup I make, but it is so simple. Sweat some chopped yellow onion (or leeks) in butter then add a few shredded zucchinis and saute a few minutes. Add a few cups of water (or veggie stock) and simmer a few minutes more then pulse the whole thing in a blender/food processor till smooth (add more liquid as needed to thin it out). Mmmm … I think I’ll save some of the tzatziki sauce as a garnish for this.

Leave a Reply

