I laughed, then cried then laughed some more


In five … four … three … two … one … and breathe. April was one hell of a month. Hence my absence and overall apathy for anything other than basic needs and chocolate. I won’t get too much into it, but I unexpectedly lost someone very dear to me and that pretty much sucked. A lot.

I could carry on here about all the ways in which this has shaken me and made me sad, but I won’t. Instead I’ll give a short list of the positive things I will take away from the experience.

Here goes:

1) People don’t last forever. Even though we seem to take for granted that they do. So I’ve been telling a lot of people I love them lately and that feels good. My mailman looked at me a little funny though.

2) Most of what we get worked up about is crap. I wish I realized this sooner but will try not to get confused again. Although I am sure I will.

3) The definition of who your family is becomes much broader and much clearer in a time of crisis. And that is comforting.

4) Not “keeping in touch” is laziness.

5) Little things count.

6) Laughter does in fact make things better.

7) When people don’t know what to say or do they will feed you. And you will like it. A lot.

8) An empty seat next to you on an airplane is a joy akin to no other.

Not a very long list, but I’ll take what I can get! I’ll be back soon with something undoubtedly witty or some gourmet recipe to share. Till then I’ll be nursing my wounds with a good book, some goobers and lots of snuggles from my little guy. But not all at the same time because ten minutes to read and three-year-old don’t exist in the same sentence.

 

 

Leave a Reply

