You say Smoothie, I say Bananas!


My dad might be psychic – for Christmas this year he bought me a blender, something I’ve been wanting for a while but finding hard to justify the purchase of what with my already at-a-premium counter space. And what better use of a blender than smoothies, smoothies, smoothies! (Except maybe Margaritas) Needless to say, my son is thrilled. And I’m pretty happy too to add another quick and healthy breakfast option to my morning. Here’s one of my favorites. Not only does it taste great but the oats make it suprisingly filling and a good source of fiber to keep you going. I like my smoothie alongside a slice of whole wheat toast topped with peanut butter, sliced banana and a generous drizzle of honey. Yum, yum, yum – then I’m ready for a full day of massages and superhero pretend play. Bring it on Batman!

Banana, Almond and Oat Smoothie

Note: Play with the amount of liquids you add here depending on how thick or thin you like your smoothie. If you’re making for more than one person just add more ingredients till you get enough. You couldn’t get away with calling this an exact science!

  • 1 Sliced banana (the riper, the sweeter, the better!)
  • 1 Tbsp RAW old fashioned/quick cook oats
  • 1/2 Tbsp Ground flax seed
  • 1/2 Tbsp Ground Almond Meal
  • Honey to taste (the riper the bananas the less sweetener you’ll need)
  • 1/2 – 1 cup Almond Milk

Toss it all in the blender and blend away till its nice and smooth …. drink up!

One response

  1. Pingback: Bran Muffins – A Fiber Lover’s Dream | Balanced Living Blog

Leave a Reply

